Anthology Poetry Award

Poetry Award

Established to recognise and encourage excellence in the craft of poetry writing and to provide a platform for publication, the Poetry Award is open to original and previously unpublished poems in the English language. Entries are invited from poets of all nationalities, living anywhere in the world. Poems submitted must be on the theme of ‘Dreams’ and should not exceed 40 lines. There is no limit to entries per person.

It is not a requirement, but is advisable to refer to Anthology magazine or purchase a copy before submitting your work, so that you can see the type of material we publish. Subscriptions and single copies are available to purchase through our online shop.


The winner will receive a €500 cash prize and the chance to see their work published in a future issue of Anthology. The winner will also receive a one-year subscription to Anthology magazine

Submission deadline & entry fee

Early Bird: 31 July 2022 – €10 per poem
Deadline: 31 October 2022 – €15 per poem


Terms and Conditions

  • To enter, submit an original, unpublished poem, written in English on the subject of ‘Dreams’ with a maximum of 40 lines.
  • Entry fee: €10 per poem if entered by midnight on 31 July 2022, or €15 per poem if entered by midnight on 31 October 2022. 
  • There is no limit to the number of entries you can submit.
  • There is no age limit.
  • The closing date for receipt of entries is 31 October 2022 at midnight. 
  • Once selected, the winner will be contacted by email or telephone.
  • Copyright remains with the author but Anthology reserves the right to be the first to publish or arrange a broadcast of selected works. The right to use the poems to further publicise this award is also retained.
  • Submission of a written piece implies the author’s acceptance of the terms and conditions.
  • Prize money will be paid on publication of the winning Poem in Anthology Magazine.

Previous winners

2020 Winner: Her Dul Abhaile Jar by Sigle Meehan                                                                                                                          2021 Winner: Unknown Freedom by Crystal Cardona

The Anthology Poetry Award is listed with:

Irish Writers Centre | The Australian Writers’ Centre | The Writers College | Reedsy | Globe Soup |Christopher FieldenAustralian Writers’ Resource | Almond Press | Neon Books | Poetry Ireland | Writing WA | Spot-lit | Gulfcoast Writers Association | Sisters in Crime AustraliaFunds for WritersArtsHub AustraliaInfoDesignersFellowship of Australian Writers NSWCAP Arts CentreBallarat WritersCanadian Authors | | | The Writing District | Paper True | | Duotrope | Study Work Grow | Writers Online | New Writers |


Dr. Rachael Hegarty

Dr. Rachael Hegarty will judge the Anthology Poetry Award 2022. Rachel is a Dubliner and was educated by the Holy Faithers in Finglas, the U. Mass Bostonians, the Trinity M. Phillers in Dublin and the Ph.D. Magicians at Queens University, Belfast. Her debut collection, Flight Paths Over Finglas won the 2018 Shine Strong Award. A child survivor of the Talbot Street bomb, her collection May Day 1974 (Salmon, 2019) has received critical acclaim for the 33 docu-sonnets and 33 ballads for the people who died on the single worst day of The Troubles. Rachael has also edited a book of poems by community groups from hometown in Making Sense of Finglas (2019). Her third collection, Dancing with Memory (Salmon, 2021) is a dance hall of memory for her mother who lives with Alzheimer’s.


You may also like